Road Less Traveled


road

About stacey

At 28 years old I became the single mother to a very tiny little boy. He never cried when he was born. They told me he was ill and needed to have IV medication. So, they gave him the meds, took his blood, and in a few days sent us on our way. Several years later, I was watching a show and they were trying to connect Autism and vaccines. I sat hanging on every word and immediately the research began. The guilt that entered into me, was almost unbearable. I started wondering if I had done this to him. (I was still fairly stupid back then!) I requested the hospital records. Remember that illness and the blood they had drawn? Well, right in front of my beady eyes, in black and white were all negative test results. "What the hell ," I remember thinking. Well, why did he behave ill when he was brand new? I eagerly read on trying to find the answer. What I read next made me go numb. "Baby boy has social complications." I think my hearing went out because I had stopped breathing for so long. After the years of trying to find answers. The years of my son being persecuted for being too aggressive. After the years of family denial and non-support. After the years of hearing he needs medication. After, after,after.....The answer was there all along. No one from that hospital ever called. The medical professionals that I was supposed to trust never called to tell me he was not sick. What the doctor did was even worse. He never mentioned anything to me about social complications while in the hospital or any time after that. It was absolutely enraging. The medical system had failed this innocent baby and in turn he suffered for many years without treatment. My son's diagnosis did not come until after he had already started elementary school. I realized how vital this information was to my son. If someone, anyone would have given me this information I would have been able to help my son with his Autism at a much younger age. So, there at his birth was the beginning of our journey. Our journey has continued through 13 years thus far and will continue for many more. I homeschool my son because the school system has nothing to offer him, wants to label him, deny services to him, and take mucho dinero's for getting on my nerves. Well, they are not getting any money for my child ever again. My son is beautiful inside and out. He is the most important person in my life. Through him, I have learned to love freely and to forgive always. I absolutely adore animals, get stupid over dogs, and live in a green house.
This entry was posted in Darious' Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are welcomed and input is appreciated